After going vegetarian or vegan, you can’t just grab the same old campout essentials. Marshmallows are created with gelatin, aka the (somehow edible) result of boiling various body parts of animals — from skin and tendons to ligaments and bones. So, basically, who would want to eat marshmallows anyway?
Along with marshmallows, you’ve gotta have your graham crackers (many brands contain honey) and chocolate (buh bye, Hershey’s Milk Chocolate Bars). But just because the brands you probably grew up with aren’t vegan-friendly doesn’t mean s’mores aren’t a possibility. With some simple swaps, you’ll be sitting around the campfire eating your favorite summer dessert in no time.
1. Choose Some Vegan Graham Crackers
Though many brands of graham crackers contain honey, there are also a good handful that don’t. And guess what? They taste equally delicious. Here are a few options:
- Keebler Original Grahams Crackers
- Nabisco Grahams Original Crackers
- Kinnikinnick Gluten Free S’moreables Graham Style Crackers
2. Now Get Some Vegan Marshmallows
Because eating anything with gelatin should be out of the question for anyone, buying some vegan marshmallows might just be the best decision you’ve ever made. Try these:
- Dandies Original Vanilla Marshmallows
- Trader Joe’s Marshmallows
- Ananda’s Original Gelatin-Free Marshmallows
3. Last But Not Least, Grab Some Vegan Chocolate
While milk chocolate is easy to instantly fall in love with, dark chocolate takes a while to get used to. But when you find the right brand, you’ll be completely smitten. (And have the best s’mores of all time.) These are good ones to start with:
- Pascha Organic Dark Chocolate, 85% Cacao
- Alter Eco – Dark Quinoa Organic Chocolate
- Endangered Species Panther, Natural Dark Chocolate Squares
Now light up the fire and have some fun.