Is Bread Vegan?

Anytime you think of baking, you probably think of milk, butter, eggs — basically all the things you don’t want to eat. But good news: You’ve probably been eating vegan bread your entire life without even realizing it. Surprisingly, bread just so happens to be one delicious baked good that typically doesn’t require animal products at all.

At a bare minimum, bread only requires four ingredients: flour, yeast, salt, and water. Which, in case you were wondering, are all vegan — even yeast, a type of fungus. So even if some brands aren’t labeled vegan, they could be by default — especially the ones you’ll find in the natural food or organic section of the grocery store.

Common Animal Ingredients in Bread

Scanning ingredient lists can be tricky, but here are the most common animal-derived ingredients to look out for the next time you’re figuring out whether a certain bread is vegan.

  • eggs
  • milk
  • casein
  • whey
  • gelatin
  • honey
  • royal jelly

There are also two ingredients to be weary of that are typically vegan, but not 100% of the time.

  • lecithin (mostly from soybeans, rarely from eggs)
  • mono- and diglycerides (usually from plant sources, but sometimes from hog and cow fat)

Bread Brands With Vegan Options

Not all products from these brands are vegan, but they do have many delicious vegan options. Just check the ingredient list to make sure there’s no animal products included.

  • Arnold Bread
  • Cobblestone Bread Co.
  • Food for Life
  • Thomas’
  • Weight Watchers
  • Nature’s Own
  • Trader Joe’s
  • Pepperidge Farm

Vegan Bread Brands

If you’d rather not scan through ingredient lists, we feel you. These healthy bread brands are 100% vegan, making everything they sell totally fair game.

  • One Degree Veganic Bread
  • Silver Hills
  • Dave’s Killer Breads (except for the Seeded Honey Wheat bread)

Now go make some avocado toast. You know you want to.

No Comments Yet

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.