What Kind of Alcohol Is Vegan?

One of the most mind-blowing facts about veganism is that not all alcohol is drinkable. It seems like wine, beer, and cocktails would all be safe bets, but crazy enough, some of your favorite beverages might not be cruelty-free after all.

First of all, don’t worry: vegans can drink alcohol and there are a countless number of options to choose from. But before we get to the kinds that don’t contain animal products, let’s go through the ones that do.

Non-Vegan Alcohol to Avoid

Many different alcohol varieties contain albumin (which comes from egg whites), dairy, casein (a protein found in milk), gelatin (from animal bones and tissue), chitin (shells of lobster and crabs), honey, and isinglass (from dried fish swim bladders). Since not all companies will provide the full ingredient list — and especially the ingredients above — it can be hard to know what’s OK to drink and what’s not.

Here are some common types of alcohol to be weary of:

  • Beer: Some brands contain milk, honey, or isinglass.
  • Cider: Some brands use gelatin.
  • Wine: Some brands are filtered through “fining agents,” which can include everything from blood and bone marrow to gelatin.
  • Hard Liquor: Some brands contain dairy and honey, but most are vegan.

To be safe, check specific brands on Barnivore to see if they’re vegan or not.

Vegan Alcohol You Can Drink Up

Typically any hard liquor is vegan (hooray!), and there are also numerous wine and beer brands that make it clear they don’t use animal products, too. Here’s a list of the most popular ones to get you started.

Wine:

  • Yellowtail
  • Red Truck Wines
  • Benefit Wines
  • Blossom Hill
  • The Vegan Vine
  • Frey Vineyards
  • Cooper’s Hawk
  • Vegan Truck Wines
  • Palmina Wines

Beer:

Note: A few of these brands contain honey-flavored beers, and those are the only kinds that aren’t vegan.

  • Bud Light
  • Budweiser
  • Keystone Light
  • Coors Light
  • Heineken
  • Pabst Blue Ribbon
  • Keystone Light
  • Miller Lite
  • Stella Artois
  • Sam Adams
  • Busch
  • Yuengling
  • Corona Extra
  • Blue Moon

Hard Liquor:

Note: Basically all hard liquor — vodka, rum, whiskey, bourbon, and gin — is vegan except for cream-based or honey-flavored varieties.

  • Absolut Vodka
  • Don Julio Tequila
  • Aviation American Gin
  • Amaretto
  • Grey Goose Vodka
  • Bastille 1789 Whisky
  • Maker’s Mark
  • Tanqueray Gin
  • St. Germain Elderflower Liqueur
  • Crystal Head Vodka
  • Kahlúa Liqueur
  • Few Rye Whiskey

So, what are you waiting for? Cheers!

No Comments Yet

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.